Balancing the Sword - A comprehensive study guide to life's manual
Perfect to frame the discussions of your family worship or a church-wide study.


Buy Now


Reading Planner

Vocabulary Tool





Study Support








Tell a Friend


Bookmark and Share

Missouri (MO) State - Homeschooling Laws and Regulations

Homeschooling is legal in every American state.  The Department of Education states, "Parents in all 50 states and the District of Columbia have the option to home school their children" (Department of Education, NCES). School attendance is compulsory for all children; however, parents have the legal right to withdrawal their children from government schools to enroll them in qualified private schools or to educate their children at home.  This is only proper considering the fact that the duty and the right to educate the next generation were appointed by God to parents even before God created governments.

Each state has laws that govern matters such as how parents are to declare their intention to homeschool and what topics must be included in your home-education program.  Some states require periodic standardized tests and more formal records be maintained. One of the great benefits of homeschooling is the liberty of homeschooling parents to choose their own curriculum.  GETTING STARTED CAN FEEL OVERWHELMING, BUT MULTITUDES OF PARENTS ARE HOMESCHOOLING AND SO CAN YOU!  It is my pleasure to help your research efforts.  Below are links to key government and non-government pages.

Missouri:  "Any parent may educate a child at home. The parent does not have to hold a teaching certificate or meet any education requirements. If a parent decides to home school, he or she must provide 1,000 hours of instruction during the school year, with at least 600 hours in the basics, such as reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. At least 400 of the 600 hours must be taught in the home location. Mo. Rev. Stat. §167.031 A parent who is home schooling a child must maintain the following records: a plan book, diary, daily log, or other written record indicating subjects taught and the activities engaged in with the student; a portfolio containing samples of the student's academic work; and a record of evaluation of the student's academic progress. Mo. Rev. Stat. §167.031 The parents may notify the superintendent of schools or the recorder of county deeds in the county where the parent resides of their intention to home school. This is done before September 1 annually. The law is permissive in the area of registering and does not mandate registration. Mo. Rev. Stat. §167.042. If families are educating students of high school age and elect to re-enroll in the public schools, they need to be aware of the local board of education policies on accepting credit for students from unaccredited educational programs. There is no recognized high school diploma for home school students. Individuals who have been home schooled may take the high school equivalency exam to obtain their GED." (Source:  "State Regulation of Private Schools," Missouri, by the U.S. Department of Education Office of Non-Public Education (2000).)



Disclaimer:  Balancing the Sword makes no claims about the timeliness nor the completeness of the links or legal information posted.  These homeschooling laws and legal information are being provided free of charge.  Postings of rules and regulations are subject to change.  Seek the advice of other home-educating parents or homeschooling organizations in your area for more help or contact your county superintendent of schools.  Plan to file a Notice of Intent to homeschool with your county superintendent or child's current principal.  (This document may also be known as an Affidavit of Intent, a Letter of Intent, a Notification of Intent, or a Declaration of Intent.  Sample from Tennessee.)   

Homeschooling Conventions in Missouri (MO)
Conferences, Expos, and Book Fairs

Buy Balancing the Sword!

Balancing the Sword is a structured study guide for every chapter of the Bible.