Balancing the Sword - A comprehensive study guide to life's manual
Perfect to frame the discussions of your family worship or a church-wide study.


Buy Now


Reading Planner

Vocabulary Tool





Study Support








Tell a Friend


Bookmark and Share

North Dakota (ND) State - Homeschooling Laws and Regulations

Homeschooling is legal in every American state.  The Department of Education states, "Parents in all 50 states and the District of Columbia have the option to home school their children" (Department of Education, NCES). School attendance is compulsory for all children; however, parents have the legal right to withdrawal their children from government schools to enroll them in qualified private schools or to educate their children at home.  This is only proper considering the fact that the duty and the right to educate the next generation were appointed by God to parents even before God created governments.

Each state has laws that govern matters such as how parents are to declare their intention to homeschool and what topics must be included in your home-education program.  Some states require periodic standardized tests and more formal records be maintained. One of the great benefits of homeschooling is the liberty of homeschooling parents to choose their own curriculum.  GETTING STARTED CAN FEEL OVERWHELMING, BUT MULTITUDES OF PARENTS ARE HOMESCHOOLING AND SO CAN YOU!  It is my pleasure to help your research efforts.  Below are links to key government and non-government pages.

North Dakota:  "Home education means an educational program for a child, based in the child's home and supervised by the child's parent or parents. N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-00.1. Any parent intending to supervise home education for the parent's child shall file an annual statement with the superintendent of the public school district in which the child resides at least 14 days prior to the beginning of home education of within 14 days of establishing the child's residency in the district. The statement must include the names and addresses of the parent who will supervise and the child who will receive home education; the date of birth and grade level of the child; the intention of the parent to supervise home education; the qualifications of the parent who will supervise home education; a list of courses in which the child intends to enroll and the public school district offering the courses; a list of extracurricular activities in which the child intends to participate and the public school district or approved nonpublic school offering the activities; proof of immunizations; and proof of identity. N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-06 (4). A parent is qualified to supervise a program of home education is the parent is licensed to teach in North Dakota; has a baccalaureate degree; or has met or exceeded the cutoff score of the national teacher exam given in North Dakota. A parent who has a high school diploma or GED certificate is qualified to supervise home education but must be monitored by a licensed teacher during the first two years the parent supervises home education or until the child being instructed completes the third grade, whichever is later. If the child being instructed receives a composite standardized achievement test score below the 50th percentile nationally, the required monitoring must continue. N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-06 (2) Home education must include instruction in those subjects required to be taught in the public schools. Instruction must be provided for at least four hours per day for a minimum of 175 days per year. N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-06 (3). Every parent supervising home education shall maintain an annual record of courses taken by the child and the child's academic progress assessments, including any standardized test results. N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-06 (4). Minimum indices of quality education are established in N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-07. A high school diploma may be issued to a student by the student's school district of resident, a state-approved nonpublic high school, or the North Dakota division of independent study if the student, through home education, has met the issuing entity's requirements for high school graduation and the student's parent or legal guardian provides the issuing entity with the required documentation. N.D. Cent. Code § 15-34.1-11.1." (Source:  "State Regulation of Private Schools," North Dakota, by the U.S. Department of Education Office of Non-Public Education (2000).)



Disclaimer:  Balancing the Sword makes no claims about the timeliness nor the completeness of the links or legal information posted.  These homeschooling laws and legal information are being provided free of charge.  Postings of rules and regulations are subject to change.  Seek the advice of other home-educating parents or homeschooling organizations in your area for more help or contact your county superintendent of schools.  Plan to file a Notice of Intent to homeschool with your county superintendent or child's current principal.  (This document may also be known as an Affidavit of Intent, a Letter of Intent, a Notification of Intent, or a Declaration of Intent.  Sample from Tennessee.)   

Homeschooling Conventions in North Dakota (ND)
Conferences, Expos, and Book Fairs

Buy Balancing the Sword!

Balancing the Sword is a structured study guide for every chapter of the Bible.